Frontier Wolf

by Rosemary Sutcliff (Author)

Book Cover for Frontier Wolf

   Book 5   
Pages: 254

After the withdrawal of Roman rule from Britain and as Saxon forces prepare take control, order begins to slowly crumble on the northernmost edge of the empire. The little protection that Rome has from the Dalriad and Caledone tribes is afforded by a small post of half-wild legionnaires known as the Frontier Wolves. A young commander is sent to preside over this undisciplined lot at their borderland outpost. Yet Alexios Flavius Aquila (descendent of Eagle of the Ninth's Marcus Aquila) knows his assignment to Castellum was not a promotion. After abandoning a fort in the German province during a barbarian attack, the Centurion lost half his men. This exile is his punishment. This story chronicles the journey of Alexios from disgraced legionnaire to redeemed hero and leader of the Frontier Wolves.

Eagle of the Ninth Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Eagle of the Ninth
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  historical  action  fantasy  classic  war  myth & legend 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Eagle of the Ninth  (1954)
2.   The Silver Branch  (1957)
3.   The Lantern Bearers  (1959)
4.   Dawn Wind  (1961)
5.   Frontier Wolf  (1980)