The Eagle of the Ninth

by Rosemary Sutcliff (Author)

Book Cover for The Eagle of the Ninth

   Book 1   
Pages: 240

Set in Roman Britain, a young soldier named Marcus Flavius Aquila seeks to learn the truth about the mysterious disappearance of his father's legion, who marched into the mists of northern Britain never to return. Disguised as a Greek oculist and traveling beyond Hadrian's Wall with his ex-slave, Esca, Marcus sets off on a mission fraught with danger in order to discover the fate of the ill-fated Eagle of the Ninth, and restore honor to his family's name.

Eagle of the Ninth Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Eagle of the Ninth
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  historical  action  fantasy  classic  war  myth & legend 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Eagle of the Ninth  (1954)
2.   The Silver Branch  (1957)
3.   The Lantern Bearers  (1959)
4.   Dawn Wind  (1961)
5.   Frontier Wolf  (1980)