The Lantern Bearers

by Rosemary Sutcliff (Author)

Book Cover for The Lantern Bearers

   Book 3   
Pages: 240

In the third installment of Rosemary Sutcliff's Eagle of the Ninth series, the last of the Roman army have set sail and left Britain forever, abandoning it to civil war and the threat of a Saxon invasion. Aquila, a young Legionnaire, deserted his regiment to stay behind with his family, but his home and all that he loves are destroyed. Years of hardship and fighting follow, and in the end, there is only one thing left in Aquila's life - his thirst for revenge...

Recognition: Carnegie Medal for Literature, 1959.

Eagle of the Ninth Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Eagle of the Ninth
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  historical  action  fantasy  classic  war  myth & legend 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Eagle of the Ninth  (1954)
2.   The Silver Branch  (1957)
3.   The Lantern Bearers  (1959)
4.   Dawn Wind  (1961)
5.   Frontier Wolf  (1980)