Dawn Wind

by Rosemary Sutcliff (Author)

Book Cover for Dawn Wind

   Book 4   
Pages: 299
The Eagle of the Ninth series is continued in Dawn Wind, the fourth of Rosemary Sutcliff's tales to trace the British descendants of her famous character Marcus Aquila. Set in the sixth century, after the withdrawal of the Roman Empire from Britain, the inhabitants of Southern England live under Saxon rule. After the great battle of Aquae Sulis, Owain wakes to find himself injured and alone, his father and brother having been killed in the heat of battle. Upon searching for his family, Owain discovers that the only other living thing on the battlefield is a lean and hungry dog, which he adopts as his companion. This story explores the twelve years following the bloody battle and describes the life and adventures of a young man and his companions during this period of historic change.

Eagle of the Ninth Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Eagle of the Ninth
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  historical  action  fantasy  classic  war  myth & legend 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Eagle of the Ninth  (1954)
2.   The Silver Branch  (1957)
3.   The Lantern Bearers  (1959)
4.   Dawn Wind  (1961)
5.   Frontier Wolf  (1980)