The Silver Branch

by Rosemary Sutcliff (Author)

Book Cover for The Silver Branch

   Book 2   
Pages: 208

Action, treachery, and suspense abound in the second installment of Rosemary Sutcliff's best-selling Eagle of the Ninth series. Violence and unrest are sweeping through Roman Britain. Two young soldiers, Justin and Flavius, find themselves caught up in the middle of it all when they discover a plot to overthrow the Emperor. In fear for their lives they gather together a tattered band of men and lead them into the thick of battle, to defend the honour of Rome. But will they succeed in time to prevent a revolution and save the Emperor from assassination?

Eagle of the Ninth Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Eagle of the Ninth
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  historical  action  fantasy  classic  war  myth & legend 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Eagle of the Ninth  (1954)
2.   The Silver Branch  (1957)
3.   The Lantern Bearers  (1959)
4.   Dawn Wind  (1961)
5.   Frontier Wolf  (1980)