My Father's Dragon

by Ruth Stiles Gannett (Author) Ruth Chrisman Gannett (Illustrator)

Book Cover for My Father's Dragon

   Book 1   
Pages: 96

When Elmer Elevator hears about the plight of an overworked and under-appreciated baby flying dragon, he stows away on a ship and travels to Wild Island to rescue the dragon. With the advice of a befriended alley cat, and a backpack of oddly assorted items, Elmer's resourcefulness helps him on his quest. His various encounters on the island are delightfully illustrated throughout this timeless story.

Recognition: A Newbery Honor Book, and an ALA Notable Book

My Father's Dragon Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: My Father's Dragon
Reading level: 6+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  illustrated  animal  fantasy  dragon  classic 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   My Father's Dragon  (1948)
2.   Elmer and the Dragon  (1950)
3.   The Dragons of Blueland  (1951)