The My Father's Dragon Series

by Ruth Stiles Gannett (Author) Ruth Chrisman Gannett (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the My Father's Dragon Series
5.00 5.00 (1 reviews)
Reading level: Ages 6 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: adventure  illustrated  animal  fantasy  dragon  classic 

This classic fantasy trilogy was written for younger readers and is beautifully illustrated. It is the story of a young boy, Elmer Elevator, who runs away to Wild Island to rescue a flying baby dragon. On the way home, Elmer and his new friend have an adventure helping a community of escaped canaries on Feather Island. In the third and final story, Elmer helps the baby dragon return home to Blueland. Note: This series is also available in a single volume, titled, 'Three Tales of My Father's Dragon'.

My Father's Dragon Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. My Father's Dragon  (1948)
2. Elmer and the Dragon  (1950)
3. The Dragons of Blueland  (1951)


"One cold rainy day when my father was a little boy, he met an old alley cat on his street..." So begins the classic adventures of Elmer Elevator and his quest to save a mistreated baby dragon, first published in 1948. The three tales are told in the engaging style of traditional stories, perfect for reading aloud to younger readers before they are able to read it for themselves. The ingenuity of Elmer in solving all the obstacles he comes across, together with the gentle humour and charming illustrations, have ensured its longevity.