The Silver Brumby Series

by Elyne Mitchell (Author)

Book Cover for the Silver Brumby Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 12
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: animal  horses & ponies  nature  fantasy  adventure  culture 

A silver brumby is special, but he will be hunted by man and horse alike, and must be stronger than both. Thowra, the magnificent silver stallion, is king of the brumbies. But he must defend his herd from the mighty horse, The Brolga, in the most savage of struggles. That is not the only danger. Thowra needs all his speed and cunning to save his herd from capture by man. In a desperate chase through the mountains, it seems there is no longer anywhere for his herd to run . . .

Silver Brumby Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Silver Brumby  (1958)
2. Silver Brumby's Daughter  (1960)
3. Silver Brumbies of the South  (1965)
4. Silver Brumby Kingdom  (1966)
5. Moon Filly  (1968)
6. Silver Brumby Whirlwind  (1973)
7. Son of the Whirlwind  (1979)
8. Silver Brumby, Silver Dingo  (1993)
9. Dancing Brumby  (1995)
10. Brumbies of the Night  (1996)
11. Dancing Brumby's Rainbow  (1998)
12. The Thousandth Brumby  (1999)