The Silver Brumby

by Elyne Mitchell (Author)

Book Cover for The Silver Brumby

   Book 1   
Pages: 192

A silver brumpy is a most special horse, both to other horses and in the land of men. And it is men who will always seek to catch him, for his beauty.

Thowra, the magnificent silver stallion, longs to be King of the Brumbies like the mighty horse called The Brogla. But Thowra is young, and in order to defeat The Brolga he needs all his strength and cunning. So he bides his time, and listens, and learns. Soon he knows that even if he defeats The Brolga he must face and overcome something much worse: the danger from man . . .

Recognition: Children's Book Council of Australia Highly Commended Book (1958)

Silver Brumby Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Silver Brumby
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 12
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: animal  horses & ponies  nature  fantasy  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Silver Brumby  (1958)
2.   Silver Brumby's Daughter  (1960)
3.   Silver Brumbies of the South  (1965)
4.   Silver Brumby Kingdom  (1966)
5.   Moon Filly  (1968)
6.   Silver Brumby Whirlwind  (1973)
7.   Son of the Whirlwind  (1979)
8.   Silver Brumby, Silver Dingo  (1993)
9.   Dancing Brumby  (1995)
10.   Brumbies of the Night  (1996)
11.   Dancing Brumby's Rainbow  (1998)
12.   The Thousandth Brumby  (1999)