The Little Women Series

by Louisa May Alcott (Author)

Book Cover for the Little Women Series
Set in Massachusetts towards the end of the American Civil War, Louisa May Alcott's semi-autobiographical 'Little Women' series has long been considered a staple of girls' literature alongside books such as L.M. Montgomery's 'Anne of Green Gables' and 'What Katy Did' by Susan Coolidge.

The tales centre on the four March girls who, struggling against poverty, await the return of their beloved father from the Civil War that rages further south. Meg, the eldest, is pretty but swayed by material temptations and looking for love; Jo is a good-hearted tomboy who longs to be a professional writer (based heavily on the author, Louisa May's own childhood tendencies); Beth is a shy, sweet music lover, always putting others' needs before her own; and Amy, the youngest, is precocious and a little selfish but very social and elegant.

Even though money is short, times are tough and they bicker as all siblings tend to, their infectious sense of fun sweeps everyone up in their adventures – including Laurie, the boy next door. And through sisterly squabbles, their happy times and sad ones too, the sisters discover that growing up is sometimes very hard to do.

Summary and books in the Little Women series

Tags: classics, historical, romance, family, friendship, culture,
Series reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Little Women  (1868)
2Good Wives  (1869)
3Little Men  (1871)
4Jo's Boys  (1886)