Good Wives

by Louisa May Alcott (Author)

Book Cover for Good Wives

   Book 2   
Pages: 368

Time has brought changes to the March household – home of the girls Jo, Amy, Beth and Meg, introduced in Louisa May Alcott's classic novel Little Women.

Having returned safely from war, Mr March has become a trusted and beloved minister in the local parish. Home, too, is young John Brooke, whose plans for a shared life with Meg, however modest and poor that life may turn out to be, make the eldest March girl think herself the happiest soul in Christendom. The young lovers will live in a charming little house dubbed 'The Dovecote,' with its front lawn the size of a handkerchief.

Life promises adventures and fulfillment for the other March girls, as well – for not only are their talents developing, but they are growing older and more accomplished in the complicated matter of living their own lives. Tomboyish Jo's curly crop is lengthening into long coils, and she is learning to carry herself with ease – if not quite with grace. Beth has grown slender, pale, and more quiet than ever, with beautiful eyes brimming with kindness. And Amy, the flower of the family, at sixteen already has the air and bearing of a full-gown woman, and exerts an indescribable charm – especially on young men...

Little Women Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Little Women
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: classic  historical  romance  family  friendship  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Little Women  (1868)
2.   Good Wives  (1869)
3.   Little Men  (1871)
4.   Jo's Boys  (1886)