The Goose Girl

by Shannon Hale (Author)

Book Cover for The Goose Girl

   Book 1   
Pages: 384

Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, spends the first years of her life under her aunt's guidance learning to communicate with animals. As she grows up Ani develops the skills of animal speech, but is never comfortable speaking with people, so when her silver-tongued lady-in-waiting leads a mutiny during Ani's journey to be married in a foreign land, Ani is helpless and cannot persuade anyone to assist her.

Becoming a goose girl for the king, Ani eventually uses her own special, nearly magical powers to find her way to her true destiny.

Recognition: ALA Teens' Top Ten (2004); Utah State Book Award (2004); Utah Speculative Fiction Award Winne (2004); Bank Street College of Education Josette Frank Award (2004); Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee for Children's Literature (2010)

Books of Bayern Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Books of Bayern
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  fairy tales  magic  adventure  royalty 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Goose Girl  (2003)
2.   Enna Burning  (2004)
3.   River Secrets  (2006)
4.   Forest Born  (2009)