The Books of Bayern Series

by Shannon Hale (Author)

Book Cover for the Books of Bayern Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  fairy tales  magic  adventure  royalty 

She was born with her eyes closed and a word on her tongue, a word she could not taste. Her name was Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, and she spent the first years of her life listening to her aunt’s stories and learning the language of the birds, especially the swans. And when she was older, she watched as a colt was born, and she heard the first word on his tongue, his name, Falada.

From the Grimm’s fairy tale of the princess who became a goose girl before she could become queen, Shannon Hale weaves an incredible, original, and magical tale of a girl who must find her own unusual talents before she can lead the people she has made her own.

Books of Bayern Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Goose Girl  (2003)
2. Enna Burning  (2004)
3. River Secrets  (2006)
4. Forest Born  (2009)