Forest Born

by Shannon Hale (Author)

Book Cover for Forest Born

   Book 4   
Pages: 390

Rin is sure that something is wrong with her . . . something bad. Something that is keeping her from feeling at home in the Forest homestead where she's lived all her life. Something that is keeping her from trusting herself with anyone at all.

When her brother Razo returns from the city for a visit, she accompanies him to the palace, hoping that she can find peace away from home. But war has come to Bayern again, and Rin is compelled to join the queen and her closest allies—magical girls Rin thinks of as the Fire Sisters—as they venture into the Forest toward Kel, the land where someone seems to want them all dead. Many beloved Bayern characters reappear in this story, but it is Rin's own journey of discovering how to balance the good and the bad in herself that drives this compelling adventure.

Recognition: Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee for Children's Literature (2010)

Books of Bayern Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Books of Bayern
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  fairy tales  magic  adventure  royalty 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Goose Girl  (2003)
2.   Enna Burning  (2004)
3.   River Secrets  (2006)
4.   Forest Born  (2009)