The Hereville Series

by Barry Deutsch (Author/Cartoonist)

Book Cover for the Hereville Series
Spunky, strong-willed, eleven-year-old Mirka Hirschberg isn’t interested in knitting lessons from her step-mother, or how-to-find-a-husband advice from her sister, or you-better-not warnings from her brother. There's only one thing she does want: to fight dragons! Granted, no dragons have been breathing fire around Hereville, the Orthodox Jewish community where Mirka lives, but that doesn't stop the plucky girl from honing her skills. She fearlessly stands up to local bullies. She battles a very large, very menacing pig. And she boldly accepts a challenge from a mysterious witch, a challenge that could bring Mirka her heart's desire: a dragon-slaying sword! All she has to do is find – and outwit – the giant troll who’s got it!

A delightful mix of fantasy, adventure, cultural traditions, and preteen commotion, Hereville will captivate children and grown-ups alike with its exciting visuals and entertaining new heroine.

Summary and books in the Hereville series

Tags: graphic novel, fantasy, adventure, family, culture, religion,
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 3
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1How Mirka Got Her Sword  (2010)
2How Mirka Met a Meteorite  (2012)
3How Mirka Caught a Fish  (2015)