The Pern Series

by Anne McCaffrey (Author) Todd McCaffrey (Author) Robert Silverberg (Editor) Tom Kidd (Illustrator) Michael Whelan (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Pern Series
This fantasy series tells the story of inhabitants of Pern, a pristine and beautiful planet colonised when earth became too polluted and overcrowded. The suitability of the planet is marred by periodic attacks from space by the destructive Thread, a space-borne spore that destroys organic substances – and hence, humans - on contact. The settlers discover that a native life form, the fire-lizard, has developed adaptations against Thread.

The first book in the series starts when the society is well-established, and focuses on the character Lessa, who is working disguised as a kitchen girl, but is on the brink of reclaiming her stolen birthright. Everything changes, however, when she meets a queen dragon. They develop a strong bond which provides vital protection when, for the first time in centuries, Lessa's world is threatened by Thread. Dragons and their Riders once regularly protected the planet from Thread, but there are very few of them left these days. Now Lessa must risk her life, and the life of her beloved dragon, to save her beautiful world...

Note: The books in this series, also known as 'Dragonriders of Pern', are listed in order of publication. For a list of the books in chronological order, please refer to the series website.

Summary and books in the Pern series

Tags: fantasy, science fiction, dragon, adventure,
Series reading level: 11+
Books in series: 29
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Dragonflight  (1968)
2Dragonquest  (1971)
3Dragonsong  (1976)
4Dragonsinger  (1977)
5Get Off the Unicorn  (1977)
6The White Dragon  (1978)
7Dragondrums  (1979)
8Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern  (1983)
9Nerilka's Story  (1984)
10Dragonsdawn  (1988)
11The Dragonlover's Guide to Pern  (1989)
12The Renegades of Pern  (1989)
13All The Weyrs of Pern  (1991)
14The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall  (1993)
15The Girl Who Heard Dragons  (1996)
16Dragonseye  (1996)
17The Masterharper of Pern  (1998)
18Legends  (1999)
19The Skies of Pern  (2001)
20A Gift of Dragons  (2002)
21Dragon's Kin  (2003)
22Legends II: Dragon, Sword, and King  (2004)
23Dragonsblood  (2005)
24Dragon's Fire  (2006)
25Dragon Harper  (2007)
26Dragonheart  (2008)
27Dragongirl  (2010)
28Dragon's Time  (2011)
29Sky Dragons  (2012)