by R.J. Palacio (Author)

Book Cover for Wonder

Pages: 320

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid – but his new classmates can't get past Auggie's extraordinary face. Wonder begins from Auggie's point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community's struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel "a meditation on kindness"  – indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can't blend in when you were born to stand out.

Recognition: Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Best Middle Grade & Children's Book (2012); NAIBA Book of the Year for Middle Readers (2012); Carnegie Medal Nominee (2013); Josette Frank Award (2013); James Cook Book Award Honorable Book (2013); Waterstones Children's Book Prize (2013); Judy Lopez Memorial Award for Children's Literature (2013); West Australian Young Readers' Book Award (WAYRBA) for Younger Readers (2013); Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award (2014); New Mexico Land of Enchantment Award for Children (2014); North Carolina Children's Book Award (2014); Washington State Sasquatch Award Nominee (2015)

Wonder Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Wonder
Reading level: 8+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  illness & grief  friendship  school 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Wonder  (2012)
+   The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story  (2014)
+   Pluto: A Wonder Story  (2015)
+   Shingaling: A Wonder Story  (2015)
+   365 Days of Wonder: Mr. Browne's Book of Precepts  (2014)