The Ruby in the Smoke

by Philip Pullman (Author)

Book Cover for The Ruby in the Smoke

   Book 1   
Pages: 240

Sally Lockhart is sixteen, an orphan, and she's just struck a man dead. Not with a weapon, though she has a pistol, and probably the heart to use it. Sally killed Mr Higgs with just three words - The Seven Blessings.

Unfortunately, she still has no idea what they mean, and why her drowned father's colleague died of fear when he heard them. Sally only knows that she'll do anything, say anything, be anything to find out.

Sally Lockhart Mysteries Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Sally Lockhart Mysteries
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: historical  mystery  crime  adventure  suspense 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Ruby in the Smoke  (1985)
2.   The Shadow in the North  (1986)
3.   The Tiger in the Well  (1990)
4.   The Tin Princess  (1994)