Utterly Me, Clarice Bean

by Lauren Child (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for Utterly Me, Clarice Bean

   Book 1   
Pages: 190

It's not easy to concentrate at school when mysterious things are happening all around you. In fact, Clarice Bean is starting to feel just like her favorite heroine: Ruby Redfort, schoolgirl detective.

Clarice and her utterly best friend, Betty Moody, are planning to ace their book project about Ruby and win the class prize, until Betty disappears into thin air, and horrible teacher Mrs. Wilberton teams Clarice up with the naughtiest boy in school. Will her new partner ruin everything? Will Betty ever come back? And what on earth happened to the silver trophy everyone's hoping to win?

Lauren Child brings her trademark wacky wit and eccentric visual energy to a full-length, fast-paced Clarice Bean episode that will charm even the most capricious reader.

Please note: Some editions of this book are published under the slightly altered title of Clarice Bean, Utterly Me.

Clarice Bean Chapter Books Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Clarice Bean Chapter Books
Reading level: 8+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: first chapter books  humour  illustrated  family  friendship  school 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Utterly Me, Clarice Bean  (2002)
2.   Clarice Bean Spells Trouble  (2004)
3.   Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now  (2006)