Clarice Bean Spells Trouble

by Lauren Child (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for Clarice Bean Spells Trouble

   Book 2   
Pages: 192

Clarice Bean seems to be in nonstop trouble these days, almost as much as Karl Wrenbury, who is the naughtiest boy at school. If only she could be more like her favorite book character, Ruby Redfort, girl detective, who is very good at getting out of trouble.

The problem is, Mrs. Wilberton is planning a spelling bee, and just thinking about it gives Clarice a stomach ache. The good news is that there is also going to be a class performance of The Sound of Music, and Clarice is exceptionordinarily keen on landing a starring role, so she can get discovered by someone who spots child talents and escape spelling-bee humiliation.

But when Karl Wrenbury has a family problem and gets into really big trouble, Clarice does something utterly unexpected, altruistically proving Ruby Redfort's maxim "Never let a good pal down."

Clarice Bean Chapter Books Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Clarice Bean Chapter Books
Reading level: 8+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: first chapter books  comedy & humour  illustrated  family  friendship  school 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Utterly Me, Clarice Bean  (2002)
2.   Clarice Bean Spells Trouble  (2004)
3.   Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now  (2006)