Lian Tanner

Photo of Lian Tanner
Lian Tanner is an Australian children's author and playwright. She was born in Tasmania and has lived there most of her life, except for three years teaching in Papua New Guinea and a year in Europe.

Her fantasy novel 'Museum of Thieves' is the first in a trilogy known as 'The Keepers,' and won the 2010 Aurealis Award for Children's Fiction.It's sequel, 'City of Lies' won the 2011 Aurealis Award for Children's Fiction, and 'Path of Beasts' was released in October 2012.

Lian's books are currently published in the USA, Australia and India, and are being translated into German, Chinese characters, Brazilian Portuguese, Bahasa Indonesian, Thai, Bulgarian and Turkish. She continues to reside in Tasmania, and enjoys walking along the beach near her home and gardening with her cat Miss Mouse.

Author's Comment: Don’t ever let anyone tell you that daydreaming is a waste of time. To be a writer, or an artist of any sort, you have to be a good daydreamer. Sometimes the best way to get ideas is just to sit and look out the window, or walk on the beach and let your mind wander.

And remember, you’re not wasting time. You’re working!

Nationality: Australian

Featured series by Lian Tanner

Hidden - Age 10 & up
Keepers Trilogy - Age 11 & up