The Deltora Quest 2: Deltora Shadowlands Series

by Emily Rodda (Author) Marc McBride (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Deltora Quest 2: Deltora Shadowlands Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: adventure  fantasy  magic 

The Deltora Quest is a collective title for three series of children's fantasy books with a continuing, classical quest storyline, comprised of: the Deltora Quest, Deltora Shadowlands, and Dragons of Deltora, also titled Deltora Quest 1, 2, and 3, respectively. Ideally, the three series should be read in order. The Deltora Quest uses riddles, a fast-paced narrative, and an epic setting to engage its readers. In most countries, the series is illustrated by Marc McBride.

In Deltora Shadowlands, Lief, Barda, and Jasmine venture beneath Deltora. There they encounter strange societies formed by the three original tribes of the Shadowlands, which long ago was a beautiful land, where the the Shadow Lord was supressed by the magic of the Pirran Pipe. The three adventurers convince each tribe to lend them their piece of the Pipe, with which Lief, Barda and Jasmine travel into the Shadowlands itself, in the hope of using the Pipe to combat the Shadow Lord's power, long enough to free a multitude of Deltoran slaves.

Recognition: YABBA - Younger Readers Award (2003); COOL awards - Fiction for Younger Readers awards (2003); KOALA - Younger Readers Award (2004)

Deltora Quest 2: Deltora Shadowlands Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Cavern of Fear  (2002)
2. The Isle of Illusion  (2002)
3. The Shadowlands  (2002)