The Thickety Series

by J.A. White (Author)

Book Cover for the Thickety Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  magic  paranormal  horror  mystery 

A dark, forbidden forest. Vicious beasts. Deadly plants. An evil spellbook. Secrets. Mysteries. Witches, both good and bad... Welcome to the world of the Thickety. Full of action, set in an intriguing and dangerous world, and illustrated with gorgeous and haunting line art, Thickety is a truly stunning series for fans of Ange Sage and Neil Gaiman.

This middle-grade fantasy series is about a girl, a mysterious forest, and a book of untold magical powers. Kara and her brother, Taff, are shunned by their village because their mother was a witch. The villagers believe nothing is more evil than magic, except for what lurks in the nearby Thickety. But when Kara enters the forbidden forest, she discovers a strange book, a grimoire that might have belonged to her mother. The events she then sets in motion are both awe-inspiring and terrifying.

Thickety Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. A Path Begins  (2014)
2. The Whispering Trees  (2015)
3. Well of Witches  (2016)
4. The Last Spell  (2017)