The Young Samurai Series

by Chris Bradford (Author)

Book Cover for the Young Samurai Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 10
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: action  adventure  historical  boys  culture 

This riveting and highly-awarded 10-book series is a sure choice to engage middle-school boys.

The Young Samurai is a series of action-adventure stories set in 17th century Japan. The stories follow the exploits of an English boy, Jack Fletcher, who is rescued by the legendary sword master Masamoto Takeshi, when he is shipwrecked off the coast of Japan and his father and the ship's crew are slaughtered by ninja pirates. Jack's only hope is to become a samurai warrior, so under the tutelage of Takeshi, he strives to be the first gaijin samurai.

Young Samurai Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Way of the Warrior  (2008)
2. The Way of the Sword  (2009)
3. The Way of the Dragon  (2010)
4. The Ring of Earth  (2010)
5. The Ring of Water  (2011)
6. The Ring of Fire  (2011)
7. The Ring of Wind  (2012)
8. The Ring of Sky  (2012)
9. The Return of the Warrior  (2019)
+ The Way of Fire (Short Story)  (2012)