The Chain of Charms Series

by Kate Forsyth (Author)

Book Cover for the Chain of Charms Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 6
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  magic  adventure  historical  family  myth & legend 

Once there was a gypsy queen who wore on her wrist a chain of six lucky charms - a golden crown, a silver horse, a butterfly caught in amber, a cat's eye shell, a bolt of lightning forged from the heart of a falling star, and the flower of the rue plant, herb of grace. The queen gave each of her six children one of the charms as their lucky talisman, but ever since the chain of charms was broken, the gypsies had been dogged with misfortune.

It is even worse for the Finch tribe—they have been thrown into gaol with only three weeks to live. The only members of the family to escape are thirteen-year-old Emilia and her cousin Luka, who have been entrusted to find the six charms and bring them together again. What Emilia and Luka do not realise is that there is a price to be paid for each lucky charm, and that the cost may prove too high...

Chain of Charms Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Gypsy Crown  (2006)
2. The Silver Horse  (2006)
3. The Herb of Grace  (2007)
4. The Cat's Eye Shell  (2007)
5. The Lightning Bolt  (2007)
6. The Butterfly in Amber  (2007)