The Fairyland Series

by Catherynne M. Valente (Author) Ana Juan (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Fairyland Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 6
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fairy tales  fantasy  dragon  magic  adventure  myth & legend 

Gather up your courage and your wishes; grab a little pinch of luck and prepare to be swept away, in a ship of your own making, to a land unlike any other...

September is a twelve-year-old girl, Somewhat Grown and Somewhat Heartless, and she longs for adventure. So when a Green Wind and a Leopard of Little Breezes invite her to Fairyland – well, of course, she accepts (mightn't you?).

When she gets there, she finds a land in crisis and confusion—crushed by the iron rule of a villainous Marquess—she soon discovers that she alone holds the key to restoring order. Having read enough books to know what a girl with a quest must do, September sets out to Fix Things.

As September forges her way through Fairyland, with a book-loving dragon and a partly human boy named Saturday by her side, she makes many friends and mistakes; loses her shadow, her shoes and her way. But she finds adventure, courage, a rather special Spoon, and a lot more besides...