The Young Black Stallion Series

by Steven Farley (Author)

Book Cover for the Young Black Stallion Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 8
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: horses & ponies  adventure  animal  friendship  girls 

Danielle Conners is devastated when her parents sell the family’s horse farm, including her own horse, Redman. While initially angry with the famous jockey, Alec Ramsay, who buys the farm for his race horses, Danielle finds a way to be foster her love of horses again through a job on the farm. Although she still misses her beloved horse, Redmond, Danielle gradually becomes attached to Raven, a brash young black colt she begins training to be a racehorse.

Young Black Stallion Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Promise  (1998)
2. A Horse Called Raven  (1998)
3. The Homecoming  (1999)
4. Wild Spirit  (1999)
5. The Yearling  (1999)
6. Hard Lessons  (1999)
7. South Wind Spring  (2000)
8. Storm  (2000)