The Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) Series

by J.R.R. Tolkien (Author)

Book Cover for the Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  myth & legend  classic  epic fantasy 

'The Hobbit' and it's sequels,'The Lord of the Rings' trilogy, make up the most popular fantasy series of all time. Set in Middle-Earth, these tales explore a richly devised fantasy realm inhabited by an array of mythical beings, both good and evil. 'The Hobbit' introduces us to Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf and Gollum, and recounts of the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent'. The Lord of the Rings' trilogy follows these characters and introduces many more as they strive to protect Middle-Earth from the dark forces of Sauron, who plots to destroy all that is good in their magical realm.

Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Hobbit  (1937)
2. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring   (1954)
3. The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers  (1954)
4. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King  (1954)