The Hobbit

by J.R.R. Tolkien (Author)

Book Cover for The Hobbit

   Book 1   
Pages: 351
In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.

Bilbo Baggins was a hobbit who wanted to be left alone in quiet comfort. But then the wizard Gandalf came along with his band of homeless dwarves. Soon Bilbo is drawn into their quest, facing evil orcs, savage wolves, giant spiders, and even more terrifying unknown dangers. Finally, it is Bilbo – alone and unaided – who is left to confront the great dragon Smaug, the terror of all Middle-Earth...

Recognition: New York Herald Tribune Best Juvenile Story; Keith Barker Millennium Book Award; Books I Loved Best Yearly (BILBY) Awards for Older Readers (1997)

Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings)
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  myth & legend  classic  epic fantasy 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Hobbit  (1937)
2.   The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring   (1954)
3.   The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers  (1954)
4.   The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King  (1954)