The Books of Faerie Series

by Maggie Stiefvater (Author)

Book Cover for the Books of Faerie Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: paranormal  fantasy  myth & legend  romance  fairies 

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass – a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky but dangerous dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen: kill Deirdre before her music can capture the attention of the Fae and threaten the Queen's sovereignty. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind...

The Books of Faerie series is a dark fantasy featuring authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

Books of Faerie Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception  (2008)
2. Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie  (2009)