The Leviathan Series

by Scott Westerfeld (Author) Keith Thompson (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Leviathan Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  science fiction  steampunk  war 

In an alternate steampunk-styled Europe in 1914, it is the cusp of World War I. The Austro-Hungarians and Germans have their Clankers, steam-driven iron machines loaded with guns and ammunition. The British Darwinists employ genetically fabricated animals as their weaponry. Their 'Leviathan' is a whale airship, and the most masterful beast in the British fleet. Aleksandar Ferdinand, a Clanker, and Deryn Sharp, a Darwinist, are on opposite sides of the war. But their paths cross in the most unexpected way, taking them both aboard the Leviathan on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure... One that will change both their lives forever.

Leviathan Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Leviathan  (2009)
2. Behemoth  (2010)
3. Goliath  (2011)
+ The Manual of Aeronautics: An Illustrated Guide to the Leviathan Series  (2012)