The King of Scars Duology Series

by Leigh Bardugo (Author)

Book Cover for the King of Scars Duology Series
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  magic  friendship  action  romance  mystery  epic fantasy 

Discover or re-enter the richly developed fantasy world of the Grishaverse. In this duolgoyy, author Leigh Bardugo reunites us with Grisha and many of her riveting characters to explore the complex personality of Nikolai.

Young King Nikolai Lantsov confronts the dark magic within him that threatens to consume his very soul. To vanquish his inner demons, he will undertake a journey through the realm to where the deepest magic survives—and risk everything to save his country and himself.

"[Bardugo] touches on religion, class, family, love — all organically, all effortlessly, all cloaked in the weight of a post-war reckoning with the cost (literal and figurative) of surviving the events that shape both people and nations." —NPR

"The story exists at an intersection of past and future selves, and in the dawning understanding that what you most fear may be what you most need." —Washington Post

Recognition: Locus Award Nominee for Best Young Adult Book (2020), Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction (2019)

King of Scars Duology Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. King of Scars  (2019)
2. Rule of Wolves  (2021)