The Legends of Orkney Series

by Alane Adams (Author)

Book Cover for the Legends of Orkney Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Tags: fantasy  adventure  myth & legend  magic  friendship  action 

The Legends of Orkney, is a series of fantasy novels that follow the adventures of twelve-year-old Sam Baron when he journeys into the realm of Orkney. There he encounters witches, wraiths, and other menacing creatures that cause serious peril to the unsuspecting Sam. 
After meeting a strange dwarf in his garage and finding out his substitute English teacher is a witch, Sam Baron travels through a stonefire to the magical realm of Orkney, where he finally learns the truth about his past: his mother is a witch and his father is a descendant of the Norse god, Odin. Now, it's up to him to save his friends and all of Orkney from a cursed red sun.

Drawing on Norse mythology, this award-winning and engaging series will enthrall middle grade and tween readers with a taste for adventure.

Legends of Orkney Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Red Sun  (2014)
2. Kalifus Rising  (2016)
3. The Raven God  (2017)