The Witches of Orkney Series

by Alane Adams (Author)

Book Cover for the Witches of Orkney Series
Reading level: Ages 7 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Oct 2021
Tags: adventure  animal  magic  illustrated  action  myth & legend 

Rich in Norse mythology, this is a fast-paced series for younger readers, filled with magical spells, mysterious beasts, and witch-hungry spiders!

Before Sam Baron broke Odin’s curse on the witches to become the first son born to a witch and the hero of the Legends of Orkney series, his mother was a young witchling growing up in the Tarkana Witch Academy. In this first book of the prequel series, the Witches of Orkney, nine-year-old Abigail Tarkana is determined to grow up to be the greatest witch of all. Unfortunately, she is about to fail Spectacular Spells class because her witch magic hasn’t come in yet. Even worse, her nemesis, Endera, is making life miserable by trying to get her kicked out.

When her new friend Hugo’s life is put in danger by a stampeding sneevil, a desperate Abigail manages to call up her magic - only to find out it’s unlike any other witchling’s at the Tarkana Witch Academy! As mysteries deepen around her magic and just who her true parents are, Abigail becomes trapped in a race against time to undo one of her spells before she is kicked out of the coven forever!

Note: This series is a prequel to The Legends of Orkney series.

“Bright, brave characters star in this exhilarating tale of magic and mystical creatures.” — Kirkus Reviews

Witches of Orkney Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Blue Witch  (2018)
2. The Rubicus Prophecy  (2019)
3. Witch Wars  (2020)
4. The Mermaid Queen  (2021)