The From One Boy to Another Series

by John Boyne (Author)

Book Cover for the From One Boy to Another Series
Two boys. Two very different stories. The same horrific war.

Newly orphaned Pierrot must leave his home in Paris for a new life with his Aunt Beatrix, a servant in a wealthy household at the top of the German mountains. But this is no ordinary time, for it is 1935 and the Second World War is fast approaching; and this is no ordinary house, for this is the Berghof, the home of Adolf Hitler.

Meanwhile, nine-year-old Bruno has a lot of things on his mind, namely who are all the sad people in striped pyjamas on the other side of the fence? The grown-ups won't explain so Bruno decides there is only one thing for it – he will have to explore this place alone...

Summary and books in the From One Boy to Another series

Tags: historical, war, realistic fiction, illness & grief, friendship, family,
Series reading level: 11+
Books in series: 2
Should read in order? No
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas  (2006)
2The Boy at the Top of the Mountain   (2015)