The Sally Lockhart Mysteries Series

by Philip Pullman (Author)

Book Cover for the Sally Lockhart Mysteries Series
Sally is sixteen and uncommonly pretty. Her knowledge of English literature, French, history, art and music is non-existent, but she has a thorough grounding in military tactics, can run a business, ride like a Cossack and shoot straight with a pistol.

When her dear father is drowned in suspicious circumstances in the South China Sea, Sally is left to fend for herself, an orphan and alone in the smoky fog of Victorian London. Though she doesn't know it, Sally is already in terrible danger. Soon the mystery and the danger will deepen but can Sally muster the bravery and wit required to survive?

A precursor to Y.S. Lee's Agency (Mary Quinn) series, Pullman's Sally Lockhart Mysteries is a thrilling historical quartet filled with mystery, suspense and intrigue.

Summary and books in the Sally Lockhart Mysteries series

Tags: historical, mystery, crime, adventure, thriller,
Series reading level: 12+
Books in series: 4
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Ruby in the Smoke  (1985)
2The Shadow in the North  (1986)
3The Tiger in the Well  (1990)
4The Tin Princess  (1994)