The Winner's Trilogy Series

by Marie Rutkoski (Author)

Book Cover for the Winner's Trilogy Series
5.00 5.00 (1 reviews)
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  action  romance  mystery  war 

Kestrel lives the lavish lifestyle of a Valorian General’s only daughter, and such riches come at a cost for Valoria’s captives, the Herrani people they have overthrown. As the Herrani face death or slavery, Kestrel’s destiny is shaped by her father. He gives her two choices: join his army or get married.

Desperate to realise her own future and knowing that it will invite scandal, she pays a small fortune for a handsome Herrani blacksmith at a slave auction. Arin not only plays Kestrel’s power games, he understands what she needs and soon she is torn between loyalty to her people and her feelings for him. But Arin is not all he seems and Kestrel will learn that the price she paid for him is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, the Winner's Trilogy is a story of romance, rumours and rebellion, where dirty secrets and careless alliances can be deadly. Everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Winner's Trilogy Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Winner's Curse  (2014)
2. The Winner's Crime  (2015)
3. The Winner's Kiss  (2016)
+ The Bridge of Snow  (2014)


In a cauldron of oppression and simmering tensions, Kestrel and Herrani, both young, clever and defiant, fall in love. With conflicting views and loyalties they must make impossible choices amidst the fumes of unrest about to explode into war. Marie Rutkoski’s novel is set apart by beautiful writing, a well-constructed historical fantasy world, and thoroughly engaging characters. I’m highly anticipating how events unfold in the next novel.