The Mister Max Series

by Cynthia Voigt (Author) Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Mister Max Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: mystery  adventure  historical  illustrated  family  friendship 

Newbery medalist Cynthia Voigt presents a rollicking mystery in three acts!

Max Starling's theatrical father likes to say that at twelve a boy is independent. He also likes to boast (about his acting skills, his wife's acting skills, a fortune only his family knows is metaphorical), but more than anything he likes to have adventures. Max Starling's equally theatrical mother is not a boaster but she enjoys a good adventure as much as her husband.

When these two disappear, what can sort-of-theatrical Max and his not-at-all theatrical grandmother do? They have to wait to find out something, anything, and to worry, and – in Max's case – to figure out how to earn a living at the same time as he maintains his independence.

Mister Max Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Book of Lost Things  (2013)
2. The Book of Secrets  (2014)
3. The Book of Kings  (2015)