The Young Black Stallion Series

by Steven Farley (Author)

Book Cover for the Young Black Stallion Series

Danielle Conners is devastated when her parents sell the family’s horse farm, including her own horse, Redman. While initially angry with the famous jockey, Alec Ramsay, who buys the farm for his race horses, Danielle finds a way to be foster her love of horses again through a job on the farm. Although she still misses her beloved horse, Redmond, Danielle gradually becomes attached to Raven, a brash young black colt she begins training to be a racehorse.

Summary and books in the Young Black Stallion series

Tags: horses & ponies, adventure, animals, friendship, girls,
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 8
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Promise  (1998)
2A Horse Called Raven  (1998)
3The Homecoming  (1999)
4Wild Spirit  (1999)
5The Yearling  (1999)
6Hard Lessons  (1999)
7South Wind Spring  (2000)
8Storm  (2000)