The Moomins Series

by Tove Jansson (Author)

Book Cover for the Moomins Series
Finland's best-loved children's author and illustrator, Tove Jansson, created the magical Moomin series of books, which have delighted and enchanted generations of children all over the world.

These magical stories, complete with Jansson's trademark sepia watercolours and pen and ink illustrations, take readers into the fantasy world of Moominvalley, and introduce the Moomins, a family of friendly white trolls, as well as charming characters like Sniff, Snufkin, and Fillyjonk.

Perfect for middle-grade readers, the 'Moomin' books are classic stories from a by-gone era but will undoubtedly resonate just as strongly with children today as they have for the past seventy years.

Summary and books in the Moomins series

Tags: classics, fantasy, family, illustrated, nature,
Series reading level: 7+
Books in series: 9
Should read in order? No
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Moomins and the Great Flood  (1945)
2Comet in Moominland  (1946)
3Finn Family Moomintroll  (1948)
4The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described By Himself  (1950)
5Moominsummer Madness  (1954)
6Moominland Winter  (1957)
7Tales from Moominvalley  (1962)
8Moominpappa at Sea  (1965)
9Moominvalley in November  (1970)