The Series of Unfortunate Events Series

by Lemony Snicket (Author) Brett Helquist (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Series of Unfortunate Events Series
Imagine tales so terrible that as many as fifty million innocents have been ruined by them - tales so indelibly horrid that the New York Times bestseller list has been unable to rid itself of them for seven years...

This darkly humorous adventure series tells the miserable tale of the ill-fated Baudelaire siblings and their menacing relative Count Olaf. When the children receive the terrible news that their parents have died and their home has been burned to the ground, Violet, Klaus and Sunny are shipped off to live with a distant relative - the greedy and revolting Count Olaf - whose only interest lies in wheedling the poor children out of their substanial inheritance.

But unbeknowst to the conniving Count, these children are not so easily thwarted. Violet is one of the greatest inventors of her time, Klaus is a bookish-type with immense general knowledge and little Sunny possesses four razor-sharp teeth which she will not hesitate to use if threatened. The despicable Count has met his match with these three orphans! Read on if you dare...

Summary and books in the Series of Unfortunate Events series

Tags: adventure, mystery, humour, family, illustrated,
Series reading level: 9+
Books in series: 13
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Bad Beginning: Or, Orphans!  (1999)
2The Reptile Room: Or, Murder!  (1999)
3The Wide Window: Or, Disappearance!  (2000)
4The Miserable Mill  (2000)
5The Austere Academy  (2000)
6The Ersatz Elevator  (2001)
7The Vile Village  (2001)
8The Hostile Hospital  (2001)
9The Carnivorous Carnival  (2002)
10The Slippery Slope  (2003)
11The Grim Grotto  (2004)
12The Penultimate Peril  (2005)
13The End  (2006)