The Ivy and Bean Series

by Annie Barrows (Author) Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Ivy and Bean Series
Reading level: Ages 6 and up
Books in series: 10
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: illustrated  comedy & humour  adventure  friendship  first chapter books 

Ivy and Bean are very different. Bean is loud and wild and goofy. She loves to be involved in games and poke her nose in other people's business. Ivy is quiet and full of ideas. She spends most of her time learning how to be a witch. Each girl thinks the other one is weird. Each girl thinks she could never be friends with the other. Especially because their parents keep nagging them about it...

But sometimes opposites can become the best of friends. For Ivy and Bean, their differences mean that they have more fun together than they could ever have separately. It also means that, together, they do more wacky things than any one kid could ever dream up. The 'Ivy and Bean' books are about the adventures — and disasters — created by this unlikely pairing. Sweet and funny with delightful illustrations by Sophie Blackall, these books are a perfect tempter for emerging or reluctant readers aged 6 and older.