The Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) Series

by J.R.R. Tolkien (Author)

Book Cover for the Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) Series
'The Hobbit' and it's sequels,'The Lord of the Rings' trilogy, make up the most popular fantasy series of all time. Set in Middle-Earth, these tales explore a richly devised fantasy realm inhabited by an array of mythical beings, both good and evil. 'The Hobbit' introduces us to Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf and Gollum, and recounts of the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent'. The Lord of the Rings' trilogy follows these characters and introduces many more as they strive to protect Middle-Earth from the dark forces of Sauron, who plots to destroy all that is good in their magical realm.

Summary and books in the Middle-Earth (Lord of the Rings) series

Tags: fantasy, adventure, myth & legend, classics, epic fantasy,
Series reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Hobbit  (1937)
2The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring   (1954)
3The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers  (1954)
4The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King  (1954)