Leroy Ninker Saddles Up

by Kate DiCamillo (Author) Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)

Book Cover for Leroy Ninker Saddles Up

   Book 1   
Pages: 96

Yippie-i-oh! Saddle up for the first in a spin-off series starring favorite characters from Kate DiCamillo's acclaimed Mercy Watson series.

Leroy Ninker has a hat, a lasso, and boots. What he doesn't have is a horse – until he meets Maybelline, that is, and then it's love at first sight. Maybelline loves spaghetti and sweet nothings, and she loves Leroy, too. But when Leroy forgets the third and final rule of caring for Maybelline, disaster ensues. Can Leroy wrestle fate to the ground, rescue the horse of his heart, and lasso loneliness for good?

Recognition: Minnesota Book Award Nominee for Young People's Literature (2015); Pennsylvania Young Readers' Choice Award Nominee for Grades K-3 (2016)

Tales from Deckawoo Drive Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Tales from Deckawoo Drive
Reading level: 6+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Tags: animal  comedy & humour  adventure  illustrated  nature  friendship 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Leroy Ninker Saddles Up  (2014)
2.   Francine Poulet Meets the Ghost Raccoon  (2015)
3.   Where Are You Going, Baby Lincoln?  (2016)
4.   Eugenia Lincoln and the Unexpected Package  (2017)