The Creeping Shadow

by Jonathan Stroud (Author)

Book Cover for The Creeping Shadow

   Book 4   
Pages: 446

After leaving Lockwood & Co. at the end of The Hollow Boy, Lucy is a freelance operative, hiring herself out to agencies that value her ever-improving skills. One day she is pleasantly surprised by a visit from Lockwood, who tells her he needs a good Listener for a tough assignment. Penelope Fittes, the leader of the giant Fittes Agency wants them – and only them – to locate and remove the Source for the legendary Brixton Cannibal.

They succeed in their very dangerous task, but tensions remain high between Lucy and the other agents. Even the skull in the jar talks to her like a jilted lover. What will it take to reunite the team? Black marketeers, an informant ghost, a Spirit Cape that transports the wearer, and mysteries involving Steve Rotwell and Penelope Fittes just may do the trick. But, in a shocking cliffhanger ending, the team learns that someone has been manipulating them all along...

Recognition: Goodreads Choice Awards - Best Children's & Middle Grade Fiction nominee (2016)

Lockwood and Co. Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lockwood and Co.
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: September 2017
Tags: horror  paranormal  fantasy  mystery  adventure  action 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Screaming Staircase  (2013)
2.   The Whispering Skull  (2014)
3.   The Hollow Boy  (2015)
4.   The Creeping Shadow  (2016)
+   The Dagger in the Desk  (2013)