Persepolis Volume 1: The Story of a Childhood

by Marjane Satrapi (Author/Cartoonist)

Book Cover for Persepolis Volume 1: The Story of a Childhood

   Book 1   
Pages: 160

Wise, funny, and heartbreaking, Persepolis is Marjane Satrapi’s memoir of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. In powerful black-and-white comic strip images, Satrapi tells the story of her life in Tehran from ages six to fourteen, years that saw the overthrow of the Shah’s regime, the triumph of the Islamic Revolution, and the devastating effects of war with Iraq. The intelligent and outspoken only child of committed Marxists and the great-granddaughter of one of Iran’s last emperors, Marjane bears witness to a childhood uniquely entwined with the history of her country.

Persepolis paints an unforgettable portrait of daily life in Iran and of the bewildering contradictions between home life and public life. Marjane’s child’s-eye view of dethroned emperors, state-sanctioned whippings, and heroes of the revolution allows us to learn as she does the history of this fascinating country and of her own extraordinary family. Intensely personal, profoundly political, and wholly original, Persepolis is at once a story of growing up and a reminder of the human cost of war and political repression. It shows how we carry on, with laughter and tears, in the face of absurdity. And, finally, it introduces us to an irresistible little girl with whom we cannot help but fall in love.

Recognition: Prix du Festival d'Angoulême for Alph-art du coup de coeur (2001); Prix du Lion in Belgium (2001); Harvey Awards for Best US Edition of Foreign Material (2004); ALA Alex Award (2004); The Times 100 Best Books of the Decade

Persepolis Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Persepolis
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  non fiction  culture  religion  historical  comedy & humour 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Persepolis Volume 1: The Story of a Childhood  (2000)
2.   Persepolis Volume 2: The Story of a Return  (2002)