The Whispering Skull

by Jonathan Stroud (Author)

Book Cover for The Whispering Skull

   Book 2   
Pages: 400

In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood & Co. hasn't made much progress. Quill Kipps and his team of Fittes agents keep swooping in on Lockwood's investigations. Finally, in a fit of anger, Anthony challenges his rival to a contest: the next time the two agencies compete on a job, the losing side will have to admit defeat in the Times newspaper.

Things look up when a new client, Mr. Saunders, hires Lockwood & Co. to be present at the excavation of Edmund Bickerstaff, a Victorian doctor who reportedly tried to communicate with the dead. Saunders needs the coffin sealed with silver to prevent any supernatural trouble. All goes well – until George's curiosity attracts a horrible phantom.

Back home at Portland Row, Lockwood accuses George of making too many careless mistakes. Lucy is distracted by urgent whispers coming from the skull in the ghost jar. Then the team is summoned to DEPRAC headquarters. Kipps is there too, much to Lockwood's annoyance. Bickerstaff's coffin was raided and a strange glass object buried with the corpse has vanished. Inspector Barnes believes the relic to be highly dangerous, and he wants it found.

Lockwood and Co. Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lockwood and Co.
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: September 2017
Tags: horror  paranormal  fantasy  mystery  adventure  action 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Screaming Staircase  (2013)
2.   The Whispering Skull  (2014)
3.   The Hollow Boy  (2015)
4.   The Creeping Shadow  (2016)
+   The Dagger in the Desk  (2013)