The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf

by Ambelin Kwaymullina (Author)

Book Cover for The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf

   Book 1   
Pages: 384

They’re known as Firestarters. Boomers. Skychangers. The government calls them Illegals—children with inexplicable abilities—and detains them in menacing facilities so that society is kept out of harm’s way.

Ashala Wolf and her Tribe of fellow Illegals have taken refuge in the Firstwood, a forest eerily conscious of its inhabitants, where they do their best to survive and where they are free to practice their abilities. But when Ashala is compelled to venture outside her territory, she is betrayed by a friend and captured by an enemy. Injured and vulnerable, with her own Sleepwalker ability blocked, Ashala is forced to succumb to a machine that will pull secrets from her mind. It’s only a matter of time before the machine ferrets out the location of the Tribe.

Her betrayer is ever-present, saving her life when she wishes to die and watching her every move. Will the Tribe survive the interrogation of Ashala Wolf?

Recognition: Aurealis Award Nominee for Science Fiction & Young Adult Novel (2012); Get Reading! Top 50 Books You Can't Put Down (2013)

Tribe Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Tribe
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: dystopian  fantasy  mystery  suspense  nature  romance  post-apocalyptic 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf  (2012)
2.   The Disappearance of Ember Crow  (2013)
3.   The Foretelling of Georgie Spider  (2015)