The Ask and the Answer

by Patrick Ness (Author)

Book Cover for The Ask and the Answer

   Book 2   
Pages: 528

Reaching the end of their flight in 'The Knife of Never Letting Go', Todd and Viola did not find healing and hope in Haven. They found instead their worst enemy, Mayor Prentiss, waiting to welcome them to New Prentisstown. There they are forced into separate lives: Todd to prison, and Viola to a house of healing where her wounds are treated. Soon Viola is swept into the ruthless activities of the Answer, while Todd faces impossible choices when forced to join the mayor's oppressive new regime.

In alternating narratives the two struggle to reconcile their own dubious actions with their deepest beliefs. Torn by confusion and compromise, suspicion and betrayal, can their trust in each other possibly survive?

Recognition: Costa Book Award for Children's Book (2009), Booklist Top Ten Science Fiction/Fantasy Novels for Youth (2010)

Chaos Walking Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Chaos Walking
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: science fiction  fantasy  dystopian  adventure  animal 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Knife of Never Letting Go  (2008)
2.   The Ask and the Answer  (2009)
3.   Monsters of Men  (2009)
+   The New World  (2010)
+   The Wide, Wide Sea  (2009)