Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great

by Judy Blume (Author)

Book Cover for Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great

   Book 2   
Pages: 144

Sheila Tubman sometimes wonders who she really is: the outgoing, witty, and capable Sheila the Great, or the secret Sheila, who's afraid of the dark, spiders, swimming, and dogs.

When her family spends the summer in Tarrytown, Sheila has to face some of her worst fears. Not only does a dog come with the rented house, but her parents expect Sheila to take swimming lessons! Sheila does her best to pretend she's an expert at everything, but she knows she isn't fooling her new best friend, Mouse Ellis, who happens to be a crackerjack swimmer and a dog lover.

What will it take for Sheila to admit to the Tarrytown kids – and to herself – that she's only human?

Fudge Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Fudge
Reading level: 7+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: humour  family  friendship  school  realistic fiction 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing  (1972)
2.   Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great  (1972)
3.   Superfudge  (1980)
4.   Fudge-a-Mania  (1990)
5.   Double Fudge  (2002)